• Stay Connected!

    We invite you to sign-up for Making the Grade, FTCSC's district newsletter!

    Follow us on Facebook and Twitter

      FTMS-W   FTMS-W   FTCSC   FTCSC
  • Recent Tweets

    RT @MSE_MRHUOTARI: Congratulations to Ann Marie Uhlmansiek for winning the @citizensenergy poster contest. Ann Marie got a visit from @blu…

    RT @AdamsElement1: What a great turn out for our first Veterans Day program! Thank you to everyone who came, helped, and of course, our Vet…

    RT @billgrossman: Great Job by the Lady Flashes tonight! Kicking off the year with lots of hustle in a 54-30 win over Franklin. https://t.…

    Last night, the Franklin Central High School Student Council raised $6,642 during their 3rd Annual Rally for… https://t.co/80HMsPhX5y

    RT @billgrossman: Congratulations to all the outstanding athletes at Franklin Central! And here are your Mental Attitude and MVP Award rec…

Meet the Staff

 

 

THE FABULOUS FLASHES OF WEST

-To contact any staff member, email them at firstname.lastname@ftcsc.k21.in.us -

- For example, john.doe@ftcsc.k12.in.us -



ADMINISTRATION

Matt Vandermark-Principal

 matthew.vandermark@ftcsc.k12.in.us

After graduating Ben Davis High School, I attended IUPUI to pursue a degree in education. After spending my first two collegiate years close to home, I transferred to Indiana State and completed my Bachelors of Science degree in Social Studies Education. Following my graduation in 2000, I began teaching social studies at the same middle school I attended as a teenager, Lynhurst 7th and 8th Grade Center in Wayne Township. During my five year career at Lynhurst I served as the Social Studies Department Head and as the team leader for the Horizons High Ability team. During my time at Lynhurst I began to pursue a Masters in Educational Leadership through Indiana University. Upon the completion of my degree in 2005, I moved into the role of Assistant Principal at Tri-West High School in North West Hendricks County. After two enjoyable years as a Bruin I accepted a position as the Principal at Danville Community School Corporation. During my six years at Danville I was fortunate to work with many exceptional teachers and leaders. During my career there I was exposed to amazing ideas and knowledge, and I was awarded the Hendricks County Principal of the Year. In 2014, I was given the opportunity to become part of another exceptional school corporation and that was when I became part of the West family. My first two years have already provided me with exceptional growth and experience. I am truly honored to be part of an amazing staff and work with amazing students! I look forward to the years to come. I'm proud to be FLASH!

Catherine Whitson-Assistant Principal

catherine.whitson@ftcsc.k12.in.us 

15 year middle school veteran, 16th year in educational field. Masters in administration, Bachelors in Secondary Education, Purdue University

Cort Scott-Assistant Principal

courtney.scott@ftcsc.k12.in.us

Married to my lovely wife Shelly and our blended family has 4 adult boys.
U.S. Army veteran (Military Police Corp)
Ball State University (Undergraduate degree)
Indiana University (Masters degree)

 

OFFICE STAFF

 

Anna Sutter-School Counselor

6th Grade, 8th Grade (last names M-Z)

anna.sutter@ftcsc.k12.in.us

 

 

Maggie Power-Guidance Director/School Counselor

7th Grade, 8th Grade (last names A-L)

margaret.power@ftcsc.k12.in.us

I have been a school counselor for two years and I love middle schoolers! I have wanted to work in a middle school since I was a middle schooler myself. My hobbies including doing anything outside (running, walking, biking, canoeing), cooking, and helping others. I love dogs, also. I am married and have a daughter who is a toddler who keeps me on my toes! I love being a part of the West family!

 

Angie Schubach-Nurse

angie.schubach@ftcsc.k12.in.us

I work for Community Health Network and am in my 7th year of school nursing (20+ total nursing). I am married with 3 children and 2 Labrador Retrievers and I love music from the 80's and 90's.

 

Chaunteia Marshall-Registrar

A St. Louis, MO native, my family and I relocated to Indianapolis to be closer to my son who plays football at Ball State University. I hold a B.A. in HR Managaement and joined Franklin Township in August 2016.

chaunteia.marshall@ftcsc.k12.in.us

 

Shawn Miller-Office Manager

shawn.miller@ftcsc.k12.in.us

I grew up in Indiana and Florida.  I graduated from The Florida State University with my Accounting/Finance degree.  My family moved back to Indiana in 2003.  I was a substitute teacher in Franklin Township for 6 1/2 years before becoming the Office Manager in December 2015.

 

Heidi Law-Treasurer

heidi.law@ftcsc.k12.in.us

Mrs. Law has been with FTCSC since 2009


ENGLISH/LANGUAGE ARTS

 

Kyle Belting-7th Grade/REACH

kyle.belting@ftcsc.k12.in.us

Ms. Belting is a first-year teacher originally from Illinois. She loves dogs (especially her family's dog Gus!) reading and baking. She is also a proud Butler grad, Go Bulldogs!

 

Lynn Braden-6th Grade/CLUSTER

lynn.braden@ftcsc.k12.in.us

More than 30 years teaching 6th grade language arts in Franklin Township. Cougill Award Winner. Former FTMS swim coach - 10 years. Former Cooperative Learning Trainer and Team Leader - FTMS. Husband - Bart (retired) 35 years teaching and coaching at FCHS. Son - Blake FCHS graduate, former swim coach at FCHS and now coaching at the college level.

 

Nikki Cerbone-7th & 8th Grade

nikki.cerbone@ftcsc.k12.in.us

Mrs. Cerbone is married and has 3 sons. She and her husband live in Franklin Township. She is a girls' basketball coach at the high school and enjoys many sports. She enjoys spending time with family and friends, being active, and reading. She is a graduate of Butler University (Go Dawgs!) and a graduate of IUPUI.

 

Amanda Fleming-8th Grade/CLUSTER

amanda.fleming@ftcsc.k12.in.us

Since graduating from Indiana University in 2002, I've been teaching in the Indianapolis area, and I absolutely love teaching at the middle school level because of the students' overall curiosity and enthusiasm. Outside of school, I enjoy adventuring into the great outdoors with my family and friends.

 

Tony Lawson-6th Grade/REACH

anthony.lawson@ftcsc.k12.in.us

As a child, Mr. Lawson lost his parents in an attack of illiteracy. He spent years and the immense fortune he inherited from his parents training and building himself up into the perfect academic specimen. Now he patrols the halls of West, striking fear into the hearts of criminals and bringing justice and knowledge to the citizens of his classroom.

 

Emily Naftzger-8th Grade/REACH

emily.naftzger@ftcsc.k12.in.us

Mrs. Naftzger is a mom, a hiker, a coach, a reader, a photographer, a klutz, and a wanna-be rock star. When she isn't grading or planning, she can be found outside, running with her dogs, or playing ridiculous games with her children.

 

Brent Williamson-6th & 7th Grade

brenton.williamson@ftcsc.k12.in.us

The sole surviving infant of an exploding planet, Mr. B. was rocketed to Earth where he crash landed in an Indiana cornfield and was adopted by a friendly Hoosier couple. Nearly three decades later, he uses his super powers of PASSION, NERDINESS, and LOVE OF THE WRITTEN WORD to inspire children to read and write until their imaginations are more powerful than a locomotive!

 

Rae Ann Woodrow-7th Grade & CLUSTER

raeann.woodrow@ftcsc.k12.in.us


MATH

 

Holly Gann-6th Grade Math & REACH

holly.gann@ftcsc.k12.in.us

I grew up in Fort Recovery, Ohio. I later attended college at Defiance College where I played basketball and participated in track and field. After two years I finished up my degree at Ball State. Before coming to Franklin Township, I taught 5th Grade at Danville Middle School in Danville, Indiana for 3 years. This is my first year teaching 6th Grade Math and teaching at Franklin Township Middle School West!

 

Mason Edlund-6th & 7th Grade

mason.edlund@ftcsc.k12.in.us

 

Ryan Kern-6th Grade Math  & CLUSTER

ryan.kern@ftcsc.k12.in.us

This is my 10th year teaching in Franklin Township. My first 5 years, I taught at Kitley Intermediate teaching Math and Science. In 2011 I moved here to West and have enjoyed being a full time math teacher and the 7th grade girls’ basketball coach.

 

Taryn Lamp-7th Grade Math & 8th Grade REACH

taryn.lamp@ftcsc.k12.in.us

I am a first year teacher at Franklin Township Middle School West and I love math! I want to show students how math is used in the real world and that it can be fun too.

 

Rebecca Nowling-7th Grade Math & 8th Grade Pre-Algebra

rebecca.nowling@ftcsc.k12.in.us

 

Angie Owens-7th Grade CLUSTER/REACH; 8th Pre-Algebra

angie.owens@ftcsc.k12.in.us

Graduated from University of Indianapolis 1994
I have been teaching in Franklin Township for 8 years.

 

Laura Reilly-8th Grade Pre-Algebra & CLUSTER

laura.reilly@ftcsc.k12.in.us

I have proudly been a Flash since 2005.

 

Kristin Waits-7th Grade Math & 8th Grade Pre-Algebra

kristin.waits@ftcsc.k12.in.us

 


SCIENCE

 

Stacy Bogart-7th Grade

stacy.bogart@ftcsc.k12.in.us

I graduated from Ball State University. I have taught in Franklin Township since 2004. Subjects I have taught include 6th, 7th, and 8th grade Science and Social Studies.

 

Julie Hippleheuser-7th Grade

julie.hippleheuser@ftcsc.k12.in.us

Bachelors in Education from Indiana University. Masters in Communications from The University of Alabama.

 

Laurie Irwin-6th & 7th Grade

laurie.irwin@ftcsc.k12.in.us

Teaching is my passion.

 

April Metzler-8th Grade

april.metzler@ftcsc.k12.in.us

I graduated from FC and IUPUI. I am married and have three children who also go to Franklin Township Schools: Aubrey, Maura and Grant. I love working at West because it is Best!

 

Nancy Moore-8th Grade

nancy.moore@ftcsc.k12.in.us

 

Natalie Parsons-6th Grade

natalie.parsons@ftcsc.k12.in.us

 

Melanie Shiflet-7th & 8th Grade

melanie.shiflet@ftcsc.k12.in.us

I am a graduate of Indiana University. I have been teaching for three years at the middle school level, all in science. I am the robotics sponsor at West and I really enjoy it! West is Best, Love it here!

 

Andrea Zappia-6th Grade

andrea.zappia@ftcsc.k12.in.us

I was born and raised here in Franklin Township. I played D1 softball at Valparaiso University, where I got my degree in history. I spent two years with Teach for America - St. Louis and got my Master's in elementary education.


SOCIAL STUDIES

 

Doug Bodie-8th Grade

douglas.bodie@ftcsc.k12.in.us

I am a graduate of IUPUI. I have been teaching in Franklin Township for 12 years. I love history and teaching.

 

Bethany Ferguson-6th & 7th Grade

bethany.ferguson@ftcsc.k12.in.us

 

Helen Hearon-6th Grade

helen.hearon@ftcsc.k12.in.us

 

Joy Koeller-7th Grade

joy.koeller@ftcsc.k12.in.us

 

Laura Lovern-7th Grade

laura.lovern@ftcsc.k12.in.us

Miss Lovern graduated from Anderson University in 2011 with a B.A. in Social Studies Education/English as a New Language. She has taught both high school and middle school social studies and spent two years teaching abroad in La Paz, Bolivia. She LOVES traveling and learning about world cultures any chance she gets.

 

Kristine Novicki-7th & 8th Grade

kristine.novicki@ftcsc.k12.in.us

 

Ted Prifogle-6th Grade

j.ted.prifogle@ftcsc.k12.in.us

Taught 2nd and 3rd grade, 7th and 8th grade Math remediation, 6th grade Math, Science, and Social Studies for a total of 38 years.

 

Patrick Rowland-8th Grade

patrick.rowland@ftcsc.k12.in.us

Mr. Rowland is a US history teacher and department lead for FTMS West. He enjoys teaching but keeps himself busy outside of school by spending time with his wife and 3 children.

 


RELATED ARTS/PHYSICAL EDUACTION

 

Brittney Gaffin-Visual Art

brittney.gaffin@ftcsc.k12.in.us

I'm a wife, an aunt, a daughter, a sister, and I have the best job ever, a middle school art teacher! I absolutely love watching students get passionate about their artwork and see how proud they get when they realize all the time and hard work pays off in the end.

 

Eric Scott-Visual Art

eric.scott@ftcsc.k12.in.us

Mr. Scott has a Master's in Art Education degree and a Minor in Art History from the Herron School of Art in Indianapolis. He has taught in Franklin Township for a total of 14 years. His teaching experience includes all of the grades from Kindergarten up to and including 8th Grade.

 

Dan Fyffe-Band

dan.fyffe@ftcsc.k12.in.us

I am a twenty-five year teaching veteran, twenty-four years in Franklin Township. My Bachelor of Science Degree in Music Education is from Ball State University, my Master of Science Degree in Music Technology is from Indiana University. I have percussion arrangements, music articles and a book published. Pro-Mark Music Corporation has a line of percussion keyboard mallets under my name. I am inducted into the Winter Guard International and Indiana Percussion Association Hall of Fame. I teach all bands at Franklin Township Middle School West. These are performing ensembles. The bands are growing both in numbers and quality.

 

Angelica Blakesley-General Music/Orchestra

angelica.lovio@ftcsc.k12.in.us

Ms.Lovio is the general music and orchestra teacher here at FTMS West. She has been playing music for over fifteen years and is an active performer in both flute and voice. Ms.Lovio enjoys time with family, performing and reading in her free time!

 

Abby Pagryzinski-Choir/General Music

abby.pagryzinski@ftcsc.k12.in.us

 

Amanda Kammer-Health/P.E.

amanda.kammer@ftcsc.k12.in.us

I graduated from Greenwood High School and Hanover College. I love sports--especially watching my three kids play theirs! When it's warm, you can find my family and I by the water....

 

Brian Hacker-Health/P.E.

brian.hacker@ftcsc.k12.in.us

This is my 26th year at FTMS West teaching ELA/PE/Health 6-8. I teach an ELA Pride.

 

Sheri Zuber-Health/P.E.

sheri.zuber@ftcsc.k12.in.us

I graduated from Noblesville High School in 1984. I attended Indiana State University and graduated in1989. I completed my masters from IWU in 1998.

 

Rob Henkle-Business

rob.henkle@ftcsc.k12.in.us

Hanover College: Business Administration
Indiana Wesleyan University: Masters in Education

 

Ryan Brammer-Athletic Coordinator

ryan.brammer@ftcsc.k12.in.us

FTMS Athletic Coordinator

 


RESOURCE

 

Tara Langemaat

tara.langemaat@ftcsc.k12.in.us

I grew up in Franklin Township and played volleyball, basketball, and softball. I graduated from IUPUI with a bachelors in elementary education and special education. I have been working in the Township since 2009.

 

Tammy Beck

tammy.beck@ftcsc.k12.in.us

I was born and raised in Ohio, but have I lived all over the world since my husband was in the military. We have been in Indiana for four years now and I have been teaching with FTCSC Middle School West the entire time. We love to go scuba diving and spending time with family and friends.

 

Brittany Sullivan

brittany.sullivan@ftcsc.k12.in.us

I graduated from Ashland University and moved to Indiana in 2011 to become a member of the West staff. While here, I have enjoyed cosponsoring clubs such as soccer club and service club.

 

Kris Frame

kristine.frame@ftcsc.k12.in.us

This is my 9th year teaching and my second year at West. I am proud to teach in this community because I live here.

 

Inga Moore

inga.moore@ftcsc.k12.in.us

I joined the wonderful team of teachers at Franklin Township Middle School West in 2011. I am one of the special education teachers at West and teach social skills and behavior management.

 

Stephen Sullivan

stephen.sullivan@ftcsc.k12.in.us

 

Lisa Freeman-CIP

lisa.freeman@ftcsc.k12.in.us

I have been working with children in grades 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 & 8 for many years. I have taught general education on the elementary level and have been working in special education with students with greater needs for the past 14 years. I am completing my third full year at West.

 

Kerri Earls-ISI Supervisor

kerri.earls@ftcsc.k12.in.us

 

 

STUDENT RESOURCES

 

Samantha Warner-Media Specialist

samantha.warner@ftcsc.k12.in.us

My name is Samantha Warner. I have a BS in Library Media and Computer Education from Ball State University. I am currently the Library Media Specialist at FTMS East and FTMS West Middle Schools. I had my first library job when I was 16 as a Page in a small town library.

 

Michelle Wolfe-Media Clerk

michelle.wolfe@ftcsc.k12.in.us

I really enjoy discussing books with the kids. Sometimes I get them to read something new, but most of the time they get me to read something new!

 

Renee Alger-English as a New Language (ENL)

Renee.alger@ftcsc.k12.in.us

Mrs. Alger graduated from the University of Southern Indiana (USI) in Evansville, Indiana. Mrs. Alger is married to Jeremiah and has two young sons, Lincoln and Grant!

 

Keith Marlow-School Psychologist

keith.marlow@ftcsc.k12.in.us

 

Kate Gregg-Speech

kate.gregg@ftcsc.k12.in.us

Ms. Gregg has a Bachelors degree in Communication Disorders from Indiana State University and a Masters degree in Speech Language Pathology from Ball State University. Ms. Gregg has previously worked as a Speech Pathologist in a skilled nursing facility as well as in the elementary setting in Rutherford County Schools in LaVergne, TN.

 

Elizabeth Benson-Adult & Child Services

elizabeth.benson@ftcsc.k12.in.us

 

Mary Knight-Adult & Child Services

mary.knight@ftcsc.k12.in.us

 

Stephanie Hoyer-Occupational/Physical Therapist

stephanie.hoyer@ftcsc.k12.in.us

 

Karissa McCormick-Occupational/Physical Therapist

karissa.mccormick@ftcsc.k12.in.us

 

Holly Paquin-Occupational/Physical Therapist

holly.paquin@ftcsc.k12.in.us

 

Deb Hall-Long-term Substitute/Special Education/Resource

deb.hall@ftcsc.k12.in.us

I am in my 36th year of public education. I have an Aerospace Endorsement and I love to teach Space! I am a published author and write a blog entitled, www.ongoingstoriesofmysoul.com I am blessed to be here at West!


INSTRUCTIONAL ASSISTANTS

Courtney Baird courtney.baird@ftcsc.k12.in.us

Jane Stipp jane.stipp@ftcsc.k12.in.us

Tara Cusimano tara.cusimano@ftcsc.k12.in.us

Rachel VanDuyn rachel.bickel@ftcsc.k12.in.us

Ashley Ford ashley.ford@ftcsc.k12.in.us

Cynthia Howery cynthia.howery@ftcsc.k12.in.us

Shanda Kelly shanda.kelly@ftcsc.k12.in.us

Amy Kindred amy.kindred@ftcsc.k12.in.us

Lillian McKenzie lillian.mckenzie@ftcsc.k12.in.us

Tabatha Miller tabatha.miller@ftcsc.k12.in.us

Nanette Parks nanette.parks@ftcsc.k12.in.us

Rachel Pelz rachel.pelz@ftcsc.k12.in.us


SCHOOL SUPPORT STAFF

Jeff Clements-Head Custodian

jeff.clements@ftcsc.k12.in.us

 

Marilyn Nuttall-Café Manager

marilyn.nuttall@ftcsc.k12.in.us

Star Express Manager since May 2004.
Favorite thing about my job is serving children healthy meals daily.
Prior employment - AT&T manager for 33 years (retired)
Loyal Franklin Township resident of 37 years. Raised two children within the district.